Show All Answers
The Bookings Process is a procedure that is done after someone has been arrested for an offense….
Paying your bond can be done by the following:
Bond Hearings are held from 9 am to 3 pm 7 days of the week.
Visitation is between 10 am to 11 am 7 days a week and is limited to immediate family only.
A Business License is an excise tax levied on the privilege of doing business in the City of North Myrtle Beach and the value of that privilege is measured by a business’ gross income. Even though it is measured by gross income, a Business License is not a sales, property or income tax.
South Carolina Code, Section 5.7.30, authorizes municipalities to levy a business license tax based on a business’ gross income.
Any business physically located within the City of North Myrtle Beach (in-town business) is required to have a Business License. Additionally, any business that is located outside of the City of North Myrtle Beach (out-of-town business) but comes into the city to do business is also required to have a Business License.
In-town businesses are businesses that are physically located inside the city of North Myrtle Beach and their business license fee is based on 100% of the gross income generated at their location.
Out-of-town businesses are businesses that are located outside the city of North Myrtle Beach but come into the city to do business. Their Business License fees are based on gross income generated within the city, but at double the rate of an in-town business.
You may request an application by mail or fax, or pick one up in the Business License Office located at:1018 2nd Avenue SNorth Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
The Business License fee is calculated based on gross income and the type of business. Our staff will be glad to assist you in determining your specific classification and resulting fee.
You may receive an application by mail, fax or at our office located at:1018 2nd Avenue SNorth Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Business licenses are valid from May 1 to April 30 each year. Renewals are mailed out the middle of March and due back in our office by April 30th.
In cases where an individual refuses to purchase a Business License, a Uniform Summons to appear in Municipal Court is issued and the case is heard before the municipal judge. Failure to purchase a Business License can result in court costs and fines up to $1088 and/or 30 days in jail. The court fine is in addition to all business license fees and penalties.
To avoid penalties, a business must obtain a Business License prior to opening to the public. If a business has been in operation without a Business License, it could be subject to fees and penalties for a period of up to 3 prior years in addition to the current year.
Business License renewals postmarked May 1st or later by the U.S. Postal Service will be assessed a 5% penalty. This penalty will increase 5% each month.
Per City ordinance, and in compliance with the equal protection clauses of the South Carolina and United States constitutions, Business License Officials are not permitted to waive penalties under any circumstance.
No. By state law, Business Licenses are based on a business’ gross income. A business’ first Business License fee will be based on a reasonable estimate of gross income from the start of operation to April 30th. The base Business License fee covers $2,000 of gross income. After a business’ initial Business License, subsequent licenses will be based on actual gross income from the previous year.
If a business restructuring occurs, the ownership structure of an existing business changes from/to sole proprietor, LLC, corporation, LLP, partnership or any other form of ownership, and there is no purchasing of the assets of the existing licensed business, a new Business License is not necessary. However, we do require notification of the change, in writing, be sent to the Business License Office so that we may update the information in our system. Send notifications to:City of North Myrtle Beach - Revenue Department1018 2nd Avenue SNorth Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
If an ownership change occurs or a new business purchases the assets of an existing business resulting in a FIN/EIN/SSN change, a new Business License is required.
If you have any questions regarding business restructuring and ownership changes please contact the Business License Office at 843-280-5585.
If a business conducts more that one type of business from a single location, each business is classified separately. It is not unusual for one business to have more that one license. Examples include wholesale and retail within the same business operation or a hotel with a restaurant at the same location. In both cases, the revenue is separated into each type of business and a separate license is required.
Any W-2 employee can operate under your business license. Any 1099 or subcontractor must have their own separate business license. This would include subcontractors working for a general contractor, janitorial services, caters, etc., that are hired by you to perform work on your behalf or for you.
Just remember that if the person or company is not on your payroll with all state and federal taxes taken out, they need their own license.
You need to make sure you have all proper state licenses (contractor, specialty, ABC, retail licenses, etc.) prior to applying for a City of North Myrtle Beach Business License. Contractors wishing to operate within the City of North Myrtle Beach will be required to provide the city with their SC State Contractors or Home Builders license numbers before obtaining a City Business License.
The City Council.
All revenue received from a business operation without any deductions for cost of goods sold, salaries, or cost of sales. It should conform to the gross income reported for state and federal income tax purposes.
A Business License fee enables essential services such as:
Funding from this fee ensures quality service to the residents and business owners located in the City, as well as to business owners coming into the City to conduct business. These revenues help ensure a high quality of life, which in turn helps create a desirable and prosperous business environment in the City of North Myrtle Beach.
Visit our Application Portal to apply for a Rental License.
On our Business License Status Search page.
Review a full list of businesses licensed in North Myrtle Beach on our Business License Reports page.
Visit our Business License Payments and Renewals page.
When you first call 911, it reaches the County Dispatch Center in Conway. As soon as they deem it North Myrtle Beach, they transfer the call to us.
In North Myrtle Beach you will talk to one of our Communications and Detention officers. When you are talking with us, one communications officer is talking with you as another is dispatching the information to a patrol officer.
We ask all these questions to get an assessment of the situation. The more information you give us, the better we can help you. We also need to tell the patrol officers what to expect when entering a situation, as well as give them descriptions of anybody they need to know.
We actually ask these questions while someone is on the way. We send someone immediately and we ask you remain calm and patient as we get there as soon as we can.
Staying on the line lets us know that you are still safe until the officer gets there. That way we can alert the officer if something is wrong.
The Hospitality Tax/Fee is a city tax or fee that everyone who eats in a restaurant, rents a room for a week or two, goes to a show or plays golf in North Myrtle Beach will pay whether they live in North Myrtle Beach or another state.
The tax is imposed on the following:
The gross proceeds derived from the lease or rental of sleeping accommodations supplied to the same person for a period of 90 continuous days or more are not considered proceeds from transients.
The fee is imposed on the following:
The Hospitality Tax is collected through:
The Hospitality Fee is collected through:
The City adopted the Hospitality Tax and Fee in order to diversify its revenue sources and not place continuing burdens upon business and residents through the business license tax and property tax. The Hospitality Tax and Fee was identified as an equitable way for residents and visitors to the City to contribute to the cost of:
The fee (based on your monthly gross receipts) is to be remitted monthly by the 20th of the following month to the City Revenue Department with the appropriate reporting forms. A discount of 2% of the fee due is allowed if the remittance is made on or before the due date. A penalty of 5% of the unpaid balance per month for each month past due is imposed on late payments.
Access the Hospitality Fee Submission Form (PDF).
In addition to our Hospitality Tax and Fee, the State of South Carolina imposes a:
Swim clinics are currently being held Saturday evenings at 5:30 pm at the North Myrtle Beach Aquatic and Fitness Center through April 23rd. Swim clinics are free to potential Ocean Rescue Lifeguards.
No. However, for all those guards out there that have been wanting to join our team but housing has been an issue here is an option that we found. On 14th Avenue S in our city right on ocean Boulevard only steps away from the beach and perfect distance for biking to and from work there is the Bahama sands hotel.
They are offering long term rentals you can get a room with 2 queen beds, small kitchenette and bathroom. They have room for up to 4 people per unit at a cost of only $1,000 a month that’s only $250 a person if you have 4 people!! All you need is a $200 deposit to reserve a room. As of today they have 15 units available for June-September so if your interested get moving on this and reserve your room today!! The contact number is 843-417-1704 just request to reverse a room at Bahama sands and have your deposit ready.
The city of North Myrtle beach is not connected in anyway to this hotel this post is for information only in the hopes to help future and current North Myrtle Beach ocean Rescue guards find housing for the summer. If you have any additional questions do not hesitate to contact us!
You can email us to book your room or get more info as well.
North Myrtle Beach Department of Public Safety – Beach Patrol Division.
The City of North Myrtle Beach does not sponsor international visas.
Beach Patrol supplies uniforms to seasonal lifeguards.
North Myrtle Beach Department of Public Safety - Beach Patrol Division1015 2nd Avenue SNorth Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Lifeguards are paid $11 to $14 an hour.
The season begins in May and ends in September.
The City of North Myrtle Beach encourages returning employees.
Our parking office is open to the public between the hours of 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday.
All Park North Myrtle Beach locations are free before 9:00 AM and after 5:00 PM every day and from November through February. Two free parking lots are located on the North and South side of Main St. east of Hillside Drive.
There is no daily time limit other than no parking from midnight to 5:00 AM.
Paid parking is in effect every day from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM from March through October.
Our pay stations and Passport parking app only take credit cards. If you do not have a credit card, please visit our office at 101 South Ocean Boulevard to pay with cash.
Mostly loggerheads (Caretta caretta), a "northern sub-species" that nests in Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina; genetically distinct from "southern" (Florida) species; population is much smaller than southern.
About May until about mid-August.
About 3 feet long and almost as wide; 250 to 350 pounds.
They dig with their back flippers.
About 30 to 45 minutes just to dig; another 30 to 45 minutes to emerge from ocean, crawl up the beach and return to ocean.
The bottom of the nest is typically about 18 inches but topmost eggs can be only 8 to 10 inches from surface.
An average of 120 ping-pong ball-sized eggs.
45 to 65 days depending on the sand temperature.
No, once she the eggs are laid, the mother returns to the ocean and never sees the nest, eggs or hatchlings again.
When it is laid below the spring high tide line and in danger of being overwashed or washed away because of beach erosion.
Too much heat, too much water, bacteria in nest and nest diggers (roots, ants, sand crabs, dogs and people).
Both events usually take place at night and according to turtle time. To feel safe, the nesting turtles need a natural habitat (dark, quiet, motionless). To have the best chance, the hatchlings need natural lighting with no obstructions between the nest and the ocean.
Small turtles float in the Sargasso Sea along the major North Atlantic currents.
No one really knows but recent research suggest 1 in 1,000.
The hatchling needs to get into the water as quickly as possible. It should be placed on the wet sand at the water line to rehydrate if necessary. If it is active, it can be walked out beyond the breakers and released into the water. It is against state and federal law to remove the hatchling from it’s natural environment.
If a turtle has stranded on the beach, it is sick or injured. Do not push back into the water. Call the North Myrtle Beach Sea Turtle Patrol at 843-283-6670 or the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Hotline at 800-922-5431. It is recommended that the turtle be shaded and wet towels placed on it’s carapace to avoid overheating.
All sea turtles in the U.S. are state and federally protected. It is against the law to have any live turtles or their parts.
For more information visit the North Myrtle Beach Sea Turtle Patrol website.
Owners or renters must apply for water and/or sewer service; renters must provide the name of owner or managing agency of the property.
Our customer service representative will provide the standard application, which must be properly completed and signed. The customer will receive a copy that should be kept for future reference, especially when closing out an account.
The department will process the information given on the application and account number will create a permanent file for each customer.
Yes. Existing customers may transfer their meter deposits to the new location. New customers must provide a meter deposit.
In all cases, an additional $25 service charge will be applied to cover cost of final reading, cut-on and cut-off and computer billing set-up.
Yes, both an owner and renter must have a meter deposit. The owner’s deposit is security during times of vacancy. If you own the property, your deposit stays intact even if you rent the property out. You will receive your deposit when and if you sell.
The current meter deposit for a 3/4 inch meter is $90. The meter deposit is returned, without interest, when the customer’s account is closed out and there is no transfer to another location.
The City pays all its obligations on the 15th and 30th of each month. Meter deposits, less outstanding amounts owed, are processed as quickly as possible for customer convenience.
Once you have paid for your building permit, you will also be asked to pay all applicable fees as:
Please note: if the water meter is installed at the time the fees are paid, the monthly water bill will be sent to the builder or to whomever is named as the customer for the account.
You will receive a bill on a monthly basis. Every attempt is made to read meters on a 30-day cycle. However, weekends, holidays, or sever weather may slightly alter a billing cycle.
Your water bill will vary according to your monthly consumption. To view the current minimum rates for a 3/4 inch meter, single family dwelling, visit our Utilities page.
Our records indicate that 6 to 8,000 gallons is the average consumption for a 3/4 inch meter (used at single family residences). Your family’s consumption may vary according to family size and water usage habits.